Get breaking Nigerian news on gist, movies, celebrities, music, lifestyle and Exclusive videos

APC leads in Edo governorship polll



The All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidatei in Edo State, Mr Godwin Obaseki is leading in Wednesday’sgovernorship election held in the state.  So far,  Obaseki has won in five of the nine local government areas declared this morning at the headquarters of the Independent National Electoral Commission ,(INEC) by the various Returning Officers of the council areas.
The APC has received  142, 464 votes  against 136, 808 votes received by  the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the nine counci lareas so far declared.
The local government areas include:  Owan West, Egor, Igueben, Uhunmwonde and Oredo. While the PDP governorship candidate, Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu won in Esan North East , Esan West, Orhiomwon and Esan South East.
The former Minister of External Affairsi and PDP chieftain, Chief Tom Ikimi lost his local government, Igueben to the APC.  Other top politicians who lost their local government include former governors of State Chief Lucky Igbinedion and Professor Oserheimen Osunbor, who lost Oredo and Esan West respectively.  Also, the State deputy governor, Pius Odubu failed to deliver Orhiomwon to the APC.